Tuscan Archipelago

The Tuscan Archipelago includes seven islands scattered along the coast between Livorno and Monte Argentario: Elba, Capraia, Gorgona, Pianosa, Montecristo, Giglio and Giannutri. According to legend, the islands were born by the precious pearls fallen from the necklace of Venus in the Mediterranean. In fact these territories are real natural havens, precious gems that need protection and care.
For this purpose, in 1996, was established the National Park of the Tuscan Archipelago. In addition to the islands, the protected area also includes a vast stretch of sea characterized by the presence of numerous native species and large marine cetaceans. It is not uncommon when navigating to come across dolphins, sperm whales and blue whales.
The island of Elba is the largest and most famous of the seven, welcomes every year many visitors who crowd its beaches of sand and pebbles. In fact, although these are protected areas, all the islands are easily accessible and allow various activities. The only exception is Montecristo because it is classified as an “integral nature reserve” and therefore forbidden for bathing, fishing and navigation.
The natural balance of the Tuscan Archipelago should not be altered, the park staff recommends to everyone the most profound respect for the environment and its resources. The islands offer exceptional views that even future generations deserve to fully appreciate.

Hotel Stella Marina

Viale della Vittoria 159 – Cecina

Telefono: +39 0586 62 03 93